Court Garden.

When Alastair and I first started planning our wedding, we knew it was going to be a challenge having family and friends on either side of the Atlantic.  Sadly, we understood that, one way or another, many people wouldn’t be able to attend due to the distance.

Shortly after deciding on the Sates for the wedding, plans for a party in the U.K. also commenced.  The party was officially hosted by Alastair’s grandfather, Jim (Grandpa), and organized by his mother, Sue.

One week after the wedding in Salem, Alastair and I flew into London, ready to attend a second celebration for all of the U.K. folk that were unable to travel to the US for the wedding, including Grandpa.

It took a bit of convincing for me to bring my wedding gown with me.  I wasn’t planning on wearing it a second time.  Yet, in the end, I decided to wear it for the first part of the party, and then change into less formal attire for the remainder.  However, my reservations about wearing the dress seemed meaningless when I saw Grandpa’s reaction at seeing me.  His stroke last year had robbed him of the ability to speak with ease, but his eyes quickly filled with tears and I knew that he was so happy to see Alastair and I married.

The party was held at Court Garden House, which is in a park with descending views of the River Thames.  We enjoyed afternoon tea and were showered with congratulations from all of the friends and family that hadn’t been able to make it to the wedding.  Alastair was reunited with friends he hasn’t seen in a long time, and I was able to meet some family members and friends for the first time.

Grandpa was delighted and in a joyous mood. That day will always be a special memory for us, and we feel very fortunate that we had the opportunity to celebrate with him.

court garden1

Leave a Reply

