Can You Spot The Difference?

Ever play that game where you look at two pictures of the same scene and attempt to locate all of the differences between them?

Don’t worry, I won’t ask you to play that game.  But, I do want to show you two pictures of the same spot in camp.  The first is from a few months ago, and the second is from yesterday.

You may be thinking, “Kristina, you have magical powers and managed to make the hills disappear!”

Or, you may be thinking,  “Kristina, what’s the big deal?  You’re showing me a lame picture of fog.  Boring.”

But, no, it is neither.

That, my friends, is dust.  Dust blown off the Sahara on the Harmattan wind.  Dust so fine and so thick it looks like fog.  It doesn’t feel like fog, however.  This kind of weather leaves you feeling drier than a stale cracker and the dust makes your eyeballs feel like sandpaper (nice visual,huh?).  I’ve never been in a place where not one drop of rain falls from the sky for months at a time.  I’ve also never used so much lip balm to stop my skin from cracking.

2 thoughts on “Can You Spot The Difference?

Leave a comment