The Tropical Elixir.

A few weeks back, the discovery of a hand-held immersion blender amongst an array of random kitchen items brought a smile to my face. It is one of my favorite kitchen appliances and I began having visions of smoothies and hummus and falafel. Thankfully, it was in working condition, unlike most things I come across. When we were submerged in bunches of bananas recently, I started making banana milkshakes for Alastair with milk powder. After a hankering for falafel, I taught the kitchen guys the simple recipe and we’ve been enjoying them for lunch with a lemon tahini sauce…yum! But most recently I’ve come up with a concoction that pleases Alastair to no end. It’s a simple blend of fresh orange juice, pineapple and banana. I’m not sure if it is the pineapple here that makes it so special but it is fantastic.

20110719-083518.jpg

Here, oranges are green on the outside.

20110719-083532.jpg

A mini pineapple getting the chop down.

20110719-083614.jpg

The Tropical Elixir in all its glory.

20110719-083638.jpg

One happy customer.

5 thoughts on “The Tropical Elixir.

  1. Can’t wait to see you so you can make me some of that juice! :) Love your piggy too, is he coming home for your visit?

    see you soon -Danielle

  2. The garden, its produce and your wonderful recipes sound amazing Kristina. How did Al lose his eyeball??? poked out when cutting down pineapples???

  3. I think he’s trying to act like a pirate Ruth! Hey Danielle, I think the piggy will have to stay here, if I even mention I’ve been around livestock they won’t let me back in the US at border control.

Leave a Reply

