The Faces of Children.

Mid-morning I could hear a throng of children singing, getting louder and louder as they approached the gates.  The school from the village, named Komahun which is located right outside the camp walls, marched all of the students, while singing and clapping their hands, to the gates to extend their regard for Alastair and me.  It was an overwhelming display.  I had the opportunity to meet the teachers and speak with them briefly about the school conditions. The school itself is in dire need of supplies such as desks, books, writing utensils and other items.  The visit from the children and their offering of a song served not only as an extension of respect but also as a reminder of that need.   After singing and clapping for several minutes, Alastair addressed the sea of faces and expressed his appreciation for their song.  He spoke of the importance of education and introduced me to the crowd.  I said thank you as well and echoed his words of counsel. My formal visit to the school is planned for this coming Monday.  It will be an opportunity to spend time with the children, assess the needs there, and determine what my role can be.

Making their way back to the school, singing and clapping all the while.

 

4 thoughts on “The Faces of Children.

  1. Do they go to school year-round? How can others help? Is there a way to send donations, etc.? (A good thing for students HERE to do!)

  2. Tia I was thinking the same thing while I was reading it, how can we help and how can I get the kids involved in helping. Love reading your updates!

  3. Thanks guys! At this point I’m still trying to work out the best way to help. I certainly don’t want to do anything that will be counter-productive. I think it would be a great idea to partner this school with one back in the states. They could easily write letters to each other, considering the school is taught in English. I know school is out for this summer in the states now, but maybe it is something to think about for fall. They are in their third term now and will have class until the middle of next month.

Leave a Reply

