Freetown 2

We’ve been in Freetown since we arrived in SL on Sunday evening. We were due to head to the camp yesterday morning (Tuesday) which takes about six hours by car, when Al started to feel increasingly ill. He is slowly getting his strength back so we’ll stay today as well, considering the drive can take quite a lot out of you.
Internet continues to be unreliable and, in my frustration, I end up abandoning any efforts to post something or upload photos. Pictures will be able to capture a lot more than I could possibly attempt to describe. I find myself staring at everything and piecing bits together to understand life here. There are people everywhere. It’s as if there isn’t anyone indoors. People gather in groups or line the streets. Women and men alike carry items on their head in a precarious looking balancing act. One woman had about nine dozen eggs postured above her. It seems as if everyone is selling something, whether it be food items or second hand merchandise. Some items are peculiar but Al tells me everything is for sale in Sierra Leone. The city itself has no skyline but instead made up of shanties and one or two story buildings. Although everything appears to be covered in red dust, people keep their clothes pristine and bright. Babies are slung on the backs of women held on by a piece of cloth. Young men walk holding hands in a sign of brotherly friendship. People come up and talk to me wherever we are, or simply say hello and stare…I can imagine I look out of place. Driving is like a spectator sport, there are no road signs and seemingly no rules. Cars come desperately close to each other and people in the street. The air is thick and hot and my movements slow down to conserve energy. We sleep with mosquito nets over us and I take my anti- malarial meds faithfully. We have been reading a book by Tim Butcher called “Chasing the Devil: On Foot through Africa’s Killing Fields”. It is excellent and worth reading if you’d like a better picture of Sierra Leone. For me, I tend to focus on all the illnesses he describes in the book, even though Al reassures me that they are rare. Nonetheless, I take my medicine like a good girl.
I haven’t attempted Krio, or the pirate language, and I can just barely understand it but I’m hoping to either get some lessons or a book that will help.
Today is Wednesday and Al is still resting. The first heavy rain since I’ve been here is dumping down on the town.

One thought on “Freetown 2

  1. Kristina – I disagree your words paint a very vivid picture of what freetown is like and it sounds amazing! Say ‘get well’ to Al for me…

Leave a Reply

